Cherry smoothie…without cherry!

29 Dec

Actually I’m the Princess of Nonsense! Today I made a delicious smoothie and the color remember my a cherry… Then I’ll name this simple and soft smoothie Cherry Smoothie without Cherry!

cherry smoothieIt’s so easy to prepare smoothies: I like it!For this smoothie I used:

2 small carrots
2 small red beetroots
1 handful of green Valerianella
1 frozen banana
1 date
1 tbs of lemon essence
a pinch of vanilla, ginger and cinnamon
1/2 cup of filter water

Blend all ingredients and….Enjoy the freshness of Mother Nature! I decorated the glass with 3 coconut’s cubes…delicious!

Beetroot is a rich source of potent antioxidants and nutrients, including magnesium, sodium, potassium and vitamin C, and betaine, which is important for cardiovascular health. It functions by acting with other nutrients to reduce the concentration of homocysteine, a homologue of the naturally occurring amino acid cysteine, which can be harmful to blood vessels and thus contribute to the development of heart disease, stroke, and peripheral vascular disease. Betaine functions in conjunction with S-adenosylmethionine, folic acid, and vitamins B6 and B12 to carry out this function.

fennel carrots juiceBut I started the day with a fresh fennel&carrots juice. I had a strange stomachache and I remembered a lesson about fennel: Rich in phytoestrogens, Fennel is often used for colic, wind, irritable bowel, kidneys, spleen, liver, lungs, suppressing appetite, breast enlargement, promoting menstruation, improving digestive system, milk flow and increasing urine flow. It is a tested remedy for gas, acid stomach, gout, cramps, colic and spasms. Its popular application is for its digestive and carminative properties for which it enjoys an unparalled reputation, being renowned since earliest times for relieving indigestion and intestinal gas and acting effectively in cases of colic. It aids digestion by stimulating the production of gastric juices, is said today to provide relief from the symtoms of IBS, and more than any other herb is an excellent tonic for the stomach and the intestines. Then why don’t put this magic vegetables in a fresh juice?

I used
4 small carrots
3 small fresh and organic fennel
2 small lemon
2 small orange
a pinch of ginger and mint

And look the photo…Isn’t great color?! If you’re curious I took other photos about the preparation (here the photo gallery on Flickr)

With the pulp I prepared some raw crackers: I added at the pulp 1 tbs of paprika, mace, salt, oregano and raw olive oil, plus some flax seed and poppy seed… Mixed together and dehydrated with the oven because I ordered my first dehydrator and I’m waiting… :/

But the result was amazing!
raw crackers ra crack pulp

See you around folks!

One Response to “Cherry smoothie…without cherry!”

  1. Anonymous 2013/01/04 at 12:52 pm #

    I found this blog very cool and I just wanna thank you for that. I hope you keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

