Messy desk isn’t equal to creativity

13 May

 Recently I’ trying to clearing my” working” life at home: I cleared my schedule as much as possible; wrapped up old projects, cleared my email inbox and other inboxes, my computer files, paperwork and finally my desk…I was really pretending to be a creativity person only because my desk was in the mess…!It’s a lie…Totally…A lie that a told my self to justifying my procrastination to do that.

Finally today I decide to star with a big step: I took four hours to clear the desk (and around the desk) and have more space, clearing useless stuff like papers, magazines, old notes, empty bottles of water, “dead” pens, and other things that usually a bring to me but that aren’t relevant for my work in my studio. Was a big work…really…a lose a lot of energy to do that… Then I told my self “you need rules to observe when you’re sitting in front on your desk”. And I made this list:

1- Remove all things that you don’t use habitually

2- Stay focus on your work/project and make one thing for time with few stuff

3- Don’t lean on the desk useless object only because you have that stuff in your hand. Put all things in a specific closet

4- Don’t eat in front of the desk: use this moment to have a little break (and stop to eat/drink junkie food!!!!)

5- Have always near you a notebook and write down every thoughts

6- Eliminate post it you have your notebook you don’t need to fill your wall with yellow stickers

7-Try to distinguish stuff actionable in five minutes and put that in a specific in box, stuff unfeasible at the moment and put that in a project plan’s box and stuff not important in an outbox.

8-Have near the desk a dust cloth to clean “possible disaster” especially if like me you use fibre tip

9- Have a bottle of water sot stay properly hydrated but not near the computes please!!!!

10- Everyday when you finish to work tidy up your desk

Probably I’ll need others rules but in the meantime I ‘ll try to use that and try to improve my “clean’s phase”.

***

Do you have other ideas relating to organizing, cleaning, home and office projects, productivity? Please sharing thoughts…!

One Response to “Messy desk isn’t equal to creativity”

  1. singapore property 2012/05/13 at 10:10 pm #

    http://8mresidences-sg.com/preview-registration/ Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

