Celebrating raw day

15 Aug

Hi Folks,
today in Italy is national holiday “Ferragosto”… Usually I don’t like to celebrate holiday like this, that don’t represent nothing for me, but coincidence it’s also my name day and I decide to celebrate my daily life with a special raw lunch!

But honestly I was inspired, last night, by two beautiful posts from Sayward Rebhal and Gena.

The first one surprise me because finally after a long time I’ve the lucky and the privilege to read a post by Sayward Rebhal in her blog Bonzai Aphrodite. I felt relief to read about her in some way, in the other hand I was a little bit worried because she told she didn’t come very well… Well in this post she talked about her journey in the vegan raw food. I’m especially gratefull to Bonzai because two years ago this was the first blog who I read about raw food and (despite she know that) Bonzay  showed me the way, step by step to approach in a gentle way the raw food style! Then when she stopped to blogging I was so sorry but this episode gave me the chance to find Gena … I’m a lucky girl…I Know :)
Bonzai’s post recap every step into the magic raw food world and into this post she tried to give some explanations about her stop-writing..I thought that’s not necessary but read this phrase ” I do plan to write as soon as I can“. In my mind she’s a special woman and I’ll to read for a long long time about her! This post gave me the possibilities to review my raw food personal history, my ED, my goals and wow folks I made very big steps every single day in recent years! Thank you Sayward Rebhal because you gave me a lot of specials tips to be raw, healthy and proud!

In the same way Gena helped me: she posted an epic question: why raw? Oh Gosh…it’s a big question… In the first time when I read this post I was thinking what kind of people ask this type of question…Instantly I had the answer : everybody (including my family and my friends!). Gena gave a lot of beautiful explanation but my favorite it’s “ I love raw foods because they taste wonderful to me, because they’re creative and fun, because they help me to celebrate the beauty of food, and because they make me feel good.”

Especially the final part BECAUSE THEY MAKE ME FEEL GOOD… for people like me with past ED this affirmation it’s the best score that you can get: be in peace with your self, accept the ways that you’re and enjoy life in every single aspect!
For many people the choice of vegan( and raw) diet has lead to the healing, for me for example… Since I was eighteen I choose vegetarian life style and immediately after vegan and cruelty free life style and ethic way of live because it’s the only diet in which my interest in health, compassion for animals, the environment, and my desire to tie my food choices to a greater good to intersect harmoniously. The raw’s step in my case was easy: I don’t remember starving periods, or fatigue, or laziness… I felt energetic and clean in every part of my body. But above I had avoid  the guilty to eat… I started looking food like a friend, like a fuel with good taste not only like a fat enemy! I started to eat for health, but I also eat for pleasure!! My relationship with food was transformed and I always felt the spiritual connection with nature! Then thank you Gena because you too have the merit opening my eyes in a new world with your tips and recipes and reflections about vegan raw world.

Ok now I want to share with you some dishes that I prepared to celebrate my raw holiday ;)

First plate: Raw Pasta Alfredo. I was inspired by this video by Fully Raw Cristina.
For first I made the Alfredo’s sauce, after I put he sauce into a bowl with chopped organic white zucchini, after I sprinkled nutritional yeast  like a Parmesan and chives.

  

Then I made for second ( but I know isn’t right) an appetizer: carrot happy (no) hummus. I used the Susan Voisin recipe .
I blended all ingredients after I served in a little bowl and sprinkled line seeds
  

And just to finish my lunch in a sweet way I’ve made a no diary raw ice cream with wild red fruits!

 

I like to be vegan raw!! Yesterday in the site (where I working) I launched a vegan poetry contest  A vegan is…… ( fill in the blank)
I’m so excited because I want to know the people answers!!! And plus the winners have the chance to go free into a big vegan healthy fest in Bologna in September SANA VeganOK EXPO 2012 with me and other super special guests!!!!

Now I want to conclude this post with a beautiful quote about vegan by Sarathi Anuyayi ” A vegan is IS someone who say ” we can”!
A vegan person is awake and aware or the truth, a person who understand the beautiful connection with all sentient beings!

Go vegan

One Response to “Celebrating raw day”

  1. wyroby betonowe 2012/08/16 at 4:50 am #

    Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too great. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

